Govt. Regd. No: 62248/065/066

Bhairav Kunda Trekking

  • Overview
  • Outline Itinerary


The Bhairav Kunda trekking will take you to the Shaman pilgrimage site through the traditional villages of Shaman that still hold the same original integrity and environment that lead you to the holy lake Bhairav Kunda. Lord Shiva is regarded as the creator as well as the destructor of life. The lake received its name after that very destructive nature of Lord Shiva. People from all over the country visit this sacred mountain to rinse all their sins away in the month of Bhadra during Full Moon. Bhairav is the name of the destructive image of lord Shiva, and “kunda” here resembles lake. It is located in the northeast part of Kathmandu next to the Panch Pokhari and closer to Nepal-Tibetan border. Jalbire is where the trek starts in the Arniko Highway. Newars, Gurungs and Sherpas are the major castes that reside on the trail of this trek. Mesmerizing views of Jugal Himal, Tibetan Himalayas and the Rolwaling Range can be seen from the top of Bhairav Kunda.

Outline Itinerary

  • Day 01 : Arival at the TIA
  • Day 02: Kathmandu Valley Sightseeing
  • Day 03 : Drive by bus from Kathmandu (1350m.) to Jalbire (1000m.).
  • Day 04 : Trek from Jalbire to Chanaute (1350m.) 4hours walk.
  • Day 05 : You trek further from Chanaute to Khani Gaon (2000m.) 6hours walk.
  • Day 06 : Rest day and local village sightseeing
  • Day 07 : Today you trek from Khani Gaun to Forest Camp (3150m.) 6-7 hours walk
  • Day 08 : Trek from Forest Camp to Pati (3765m.) 5 hours walk
  • Day 09 : Pati to Bhairab Kunda (4250m.) 3 hours walk
  • Day 10 : After watching the sunrise view, you trek from Bhairab Kunda to Sherpa Gaun (2500m)
  • Day 11 : From Sherpa Gaun you trek to Larcha (1500m.) and visit Hot spring at the Kodari highway
  • Day 12 : Finally you trek from Larcha to Kathmandu by bus for 5-6 hours.
  • Day 13 : Final Departure home.

No departure dates found for please choose different option